Does Anyone Care About Book Trailers?

So I was making a routine visit to the Epic Reads website, and I stumbled across this list of the best YA book trailers of all time.

At around the same time, I was reading Create Your Writer Platform, and I found a quote from Gina Panettieri saying that book trailers were a waste of money.  She

argues that the only people who look at these trailers are those who already plan to buy the book.  So the question is, who out there cares about book trailers?

On the one hand, I found a number of the trailers at Epic Reads quite engaging.  On the other hand, while I look for info on a movie or TV show by going to Wikipedia, TV Tropes and watching a trailer, I look for info on books by going to Wikipedia and TV Tropes.  I only ever watch a book trailer if I just happen to stumble across it.  So I guess I would have to agree with Ms. Panettieri.  But does anyone out there actually search out book trailers?

2 thoughts on “Does Anyone Care About Book Trailers?

  1. Great post! I don’t typically watch book trailers, but I don’t think I have a particular reason as to why. I just never really found them interesting *shrug* Plus, I like having my own original idea of what characters look like based on my reading and if I watched trailers first my perception would probably be skewed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

