More Halloween Books to Consider

Here’s a look at some more Halloween reads you (and I) might want to check out!

My reading list for the rest of October is pretty much full. I just finished Katie Alender’s The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall.  I loved it, though there was one part of the ending that was too pat for my liking.  So now I’m working on Alender’s Marie Antoinette, Serial Killer book.

Once that is complete, I will move onto the anthology Scary Out There, followed by modern day Macbeth As I Descended by Robin Talley. Then I will move on too Truthwitch and Three Dark Crowns by Susan Dennard and Kendare Blake respectively.

Booktuber Ermahgerd Berks offers a list of spooky book recommendations, including the Anna Dressed in Blood duology by the aforementioned Kendare Blake.  I’ve long been considering checking out this series, but have never actually picked the books up.  This is in part because my previous experience with Blake, her Goddess War trilogy, wasn’t that great.  I thought the first book had some definite potential, even though it was flawed, but the later books disappointed me.  But I couldn’t resist Three Dark Crowns in spite of this disappointment and some mixed reviews, and I’ll probably get around to the Anna Dressed in Blood books one of these days.  The fact that the books are set in Canada doesn’t hurt either.  The list also includes the Patrick Ness book A Monster Calls, which has of course been made into a movie that will be hitting theatres soon.

Karla Rayne has a list of her own, including my upcoming read As I Descended.  She also mentions the Hex Hall trilogy by Rachel Hawkins.  This is definitely a good option, especially if you don’t want anything too scary.  It’s more of a light-hearted, whimsical option for a Halloween series.

Finally, Reading With Pugs suggests a number of books, including the previously mentioned Anna Dressed in Blood.  She also lists the previously mentioned The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall, as well as a couple of other books that I have already checked out, both of which are solid, if not spectacular.  The Graces by Laure Eve is a slow burn story about witches, leading up to a climax when things really start to get crazy.  Hilary Monahan’s Bloody Mary duology tells of four girls who get a lot more than they bargained for when they summon the legendary spirit.  And if being stalked by Bloody Mary isn’t enough of a problem, one of the girls may be manipulating the situation.

Before I sign off, I want to mention that along with Anna dressed in Blood, I have always been intrigued by Susan Dennard’s Something Strange and Deadly series. Presumably, how I feel about Truthwitch and Three Dark Crowns will help determine how quickly I move to pick up these books.  Perhaps they will become incredibly inappropriate Christmas reads?

 

Leave a Reply

